PDA

View Full Version : Please educate me on aluminum esp. for gravel

cgolvin
07-29-2020, 01:20 PM
I've never ridden an aluminum frame so I have no experience or perspective, though of course I've read a lot of opinions.

I'm helping my brother with finding a 'gravel' bike (mixed use on and off road, disc brakes, 650 and 700 wheels). My initial advice for frame material was ti >> steel >> carbon, but the Zanc listed in the classifieds got me pondering whether aluminum should be in there and where in the order.

More specifically, I'm looking for first hand experience from those who have owned an aluminum bike in this category, pros and cons, and especially if you can contrast it with experience with a bike made of another material in the same category. FWIW, the bike would be on the small end of the spectrum, ~53 ETT.

thanks Mr. & Ms. Paceline

AngryScientist
07-29-2020, 01:24 PM
The zanc will be a great bike in this category. Alloy is a good alternative to keep the frame weight down without having to resort to expensive Ti or carbon.

with a gravel typed bike, a lot of the ride qualities are tuned with the tire and pressure selection, so the frame material has less input on the ride qualities. 10psi out of a 35mm tire will do a lot more to smooth out gravel than steel/aluminum.

as you probably know, i have more bikes than brains, and my zank alloy road-32 is a great bike, and i have ridden it over every surface imaginable. it's definitely different than steel and ti, i would say in general stiffer and more responsive to rider input, which is a good thing generally speaking.

i would have no hesitation to go with well made alu for gravelling.

Hilltopperny
07-29-2020, 01:24 PM
I have owned a few aluminum bikes including a Zanconato cx and I will say it was the best riding aluminum bike I have thrown a leg over. It was snappy and well mannered with the comfort of steel.