PDA

View Full Version : Anyone in the building trades?

matthewhelmuth
07-25-2020, 11:02 PM
Wondering what kind of representation the building trades have on the paceline. I was a mechanic for a number of years, but kids prompted me to get a real job and I became an electrical apprentice. I’ve worked in commercial and industrial but no residential. Those of you who are or have been in the trades, how do you balance work and recreation? Wearing bags and asking my body to do awkwardly strenuous things all day has been a serious downer on my desire to exercise after the fact. Tricks of the trade(s) are welcome!

Tandem Rider
07-26-2020, 07:46 AM
Commercial and industrial HVACR here, mostly service, some construction, since 1978. It was a lot easier when I was younger, 20's and 30's. I raced until my early 50's, fortunately, Masters races are a lot shorter than P12 races. Now, I don't really have a schedule, I fix stuff when it's broke, but I generally start around 7, and end when the calls are done. I mostly doing Supermarkets and it's summer, so I get home around 7 - 8 in the evenings. That makes an early am ride easier to manage than after work for both time and energy. I try to get in an hour, that leaves plenty in the tank for work, consistency is the key. Weekends I can usually sneak in 2 to 3 hours during the day.

2metalhips
07-26-2020, 10:30 AM
I'm retired now but I would try to ride in the AM before work. Lights, less traffic, more energy.

dvs cycles
07-26-2020, 06:32 PM
Retired from IBEW since 2003. When I was working I would do a couple rides after work when there was light and trainer when not. Having weekends off always got in good rides when not a race to go to.
The physical work made it harder to train after work but added to my fitness all around.
Had a bunch of times in the 90's of long stretches of unemployment and got in the best shape of my life. Physically not financially.

biker72
07-26-2020, 06:55 PM