PDA

View Full Version : OT: Is there an electric car on the horizon that you are excited about?

Onno
07-23-2020, 01:24 PM
My wife has insisted (and I agree) that our next car must be electric. We have a couple of years to wait on this, but the only thing I like researching more than a next car purchase is a next bike purchase, so I've already begun digging around. This is what she wants in an electric car:

--range of 300 miles
--can hold 5 dogs (our pack)
--looks good (i.e. not boxy or heavy or transformery)
--has nothing to do with Elon Musk (whom she detests)
--does not have leather seats (she's vegan)
--does not break the bank

I have high hopes for the VW ID4 or ID5 (the Vizzion?). But who knows when they will be out. Anything else I should be looking at?

BGW17
07-23-2020, 01:38 PM
Porsche Taycan if you got the $$. I’m a Porsche technician and they’re nice and fast. Just drove one this morning, very quick. And Vegan leather.

But Audi has the e-tron SUV which can fit the dogs and bikes easily.

zetroc
07-23-2020, 01:46 PM
Honda e - but they have no plans to bring it to the US.

https://www.caranddriver.com/news/a30690248/honda-e-u-s-market-why/

slowpoke
07-23-2020, 01:47 PM
It's not completely electric, but the 2021 RAV4 Prime looks really promising.

jds108
07-23-2020, 01:53 PM
Honda e - but they have no plans to bring it to the US.

https://www.caranddriver.com/news/a30690248/honda-e-u-s-market-why/

That article says the range is 137 miles. Plus, I'd like to see somebody get 5 dogs and their significant other all in that... So I'm not sure this would be the best choice for the OP even it it becomes available.

pasadena
07-23-2020, 01:57 PM
The only thing coming up soon is the Mustang Mach E. 4 door hatch crossover.

5 dogs could fit, depending on the size of the dogs. What do you drive now and what size vehicle would be ideal?

Wattvagen
07-23-2020, 02:01 PM
what kind of dogs are we talking about? 5 dogs sounds like a lot of space to me!