PDA

View Full Version : Wheelset for Soma Fogcutter

bobin2
07-21-2020, 01:54 PM
I'm thinking of finally making the move to a disc brake bike this winter and am looking to build up a Soma Fogcutter. I'm totally new to disc brakes and the website says the FC has International disc mounts - so need help with what hubs will match up correctly. I'd like to find a used or new wheelset deal some time between now and xmas so I don't have to lay down the all the $ at once.

I've had good luck with H+Son and HED so I'm looking for the Hydra or Begium Plus rims... but just not sure about the correct hubs...

Smitty2k1
07-21-2020, 02:29 PM
Fog Cutter is quick release not thru axle. I prefer centerlock discs over 6 bolt, but it's really a toss up.

The IS refers to the mounts on the bike - you need to know that for when you buy brake calipers, but they don't matter for wheels/hubs.

I was looking at a Fog Cutter last year and found that Velomine had some awesome wheelsets for a good price if you want H Plus Son rims. Either paired with Shimano 505 hubs (105 level) for about $200 or with Sram 900 hubs (convertible) for closer to $400.

sonicCows
07-21-2020, 03:38 PM

bobin2
07-22-2020, 03:14 PM
Thanks for the tips on Velomine. These look good. (https://www.velomine.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=4243) SRAM 900 hubs look ok?

charliedid
07-22-2020, 03:39 PM
Also remember you can run 700x38 or 650x42 wheels if you like.

bobin2
07-22-2020, 03:42 PM
Ok, I'm looking at a 105 Groupset for this bike that comes with "R7070 Flat Mount Disc Calipers" ... I can get this type of an flat to is adapter right (https://www.amazon.com/Front-Adaptor-Formula-Shimano-Colors/dp/B00QZDBHJE)?

The thing I love about building up a bike is that I can buy this stuff over time although I wonder in the end if going to my LBS would be about the same.

charliedid
07-22-2020, 05:20 PM