PDA

View Full Version : Anybody lifting weights?

CNY rider
07-21-2020, 07:18 AM
I'm looking to start a simple program.....just baby steps.
The background: I have no experience with lifting weights.
I recently turned 50.
I have been riding our tandem more with the kids this year, and also doing some mountain biking. Both require lots of leg torque. I feel like I am flying on my regular road bike after spending a few rides over a week on the tandem or the MTB. Some of it is probably psychological but I think it helps build muscle power.

Second, on a recent hiking trip, I wasn't totally happy with my leg strength. Climbing up ledges, putting weight on the ball of one foot with the knee flexed 90 degrees and pushing your whole body up....I wasn't happy with how I did on that.

So I thought I might add some weight lifting to the mix and see if it helps.
We have a great gym nearby, we have a family membership but it's closed until Labor Day and I don't like gyms to begin with so that's not going to be a help.

I don't have a ton of time to invest in this either. I already stretch 7 days a week for 15-20 minutes. Thinking I could add in 20 minutes of work with weights 3 times a week.
Where to even begin? Happy to have book or website references or personal advice.
Thanks.

bigbill
07-21-2020, 07:46 AM
I do a boot camp class (outside for now) three times a week. It is an hour-long and starts with 10 minutes of stretching. We use kettlebells and dumbells with a lot of lunges, squats, core, and upper body. I'm still a fatass but I have amazing core strength.

Divebomb
07-21-2020, 07:48 AM