PDA

View Full Version : OT - Using a Chromebook as a business PC?

texbike
07-21-2020, 06:46 AM
Hey Team,

Is anyone using a Chromebook as their primary business PC? What are your thoughts on capabilities and limitations? I've read a number of reviews online, but would love to hear real world experience from any Paceline members that are using a Chromebook successfully (or unsuccessfully) in a business setting.

Thanks!

Texbike

YoKev
07-21-2020, 07:08 AM
What are your day to day tasks on a PC?

I've been using my Acer Chromebook since 2014.

It links up with everything you'd use on a Google platform, and it does it relatively well.

I really only use mine for web browsing and gmail though. Also, it streams YouTube, Hulu, Netflix just fine.

I bought mine as a refurbished unit and it cost a grand total of $150. Your mileage may vary.

C40_guy
07-21-2020, 10:22 AM
Hey Team,

Is anyone using a Chromebook as their primary business PC?

I just started using one a week ago. It's a pretty interesting platform, one that does take some getting used to. I'm using it with an external monitor, a Logitech 580 keyboard (Chromebook specific) and an Apple trackpad.

It's particularly useful if your coworkers are also using G Suite for mail, docs, etc. The online collaboration is quite different than "who has the latest version of the spreadsheet."

Full disclosure -- I didn't have a choice -- my new employer owns the back-end and the operating system. :) In my case, the environment is beautifully integrated.

texbike
07-21-2020, 11:17 AM
What are your day to day tasks on a PC?

I've been using my Acer Chromebook since 2014.

It links up with everything you'd use on a Google platform, and it does it relatively well.

I really only use mine for web browsing and gmail though. Also, it streams YouTube, Hulu, Netflix just fine.

I bought mine as a refurbished unit and it cost a grand total of $150. Your mileage may vary.