PDA

View Full Version : OT: Opinions on housing market

steveoz
07-01-2020, 06:23 AM
Sooo I've been floating this idea in my head - sell the condo (it's paid off) rent for a while, wait till the housing market drops and use the proceeds to pick up a deal on single family home. Don't have any other dependents/ s.o. to worry about..and maybe I'm romanticizing the idea of an actual house with a yard but....the condo life is getting old and I'd like to relocate..
The idea is contingent on selling high (within the next 6 months) and waiting another 6-12 for a drop in market - which I feel is inevitable - what do you think? (be gentle...)

AngryScientist
07-01-2020, 06:31 AM
which housing market are we talking about? and what price range?

i do not believe there is an inevitable drop in the US real estate market completely across the board looming. some areas and sectors yes, some...no.

i'm not an expert, but we're casually in the market for a house and the pandemic situation has certainly not effected the market the way i guessed it would have - which i suppose is why i am not an expert, haha.

Hellgate
07-01-2020, 06:37 AM
It depends on where you are. Some areas are very hot right now. As the saying goes, "Location, location, location."

fignon's barber
07-01-2020, 06:39 AM
I think it's a pretty sound strategy if you're in an area that is likely to drop. One thing I'd add is that when you go to buy again, try to keep little or no mortgage because part of the equation is that interest rates will probably be high.

p nut
07-01-2020, 06:51 AM
Trying to time the housing market is a big gamble. My guess is, best case scenario, you’ll come out a few grand ahead. Immaterial, looking long term.

Since your condo is paid for, just start saving and buy when you’ve got a good chunk of down payment on a new house. Maybe even think about keeping the condo and renting it out, which will offset the mortgage on the new home.

oldpotatoe
07-01-2020, 06:58 AM