PDA

View Full Version : Is there a "new normal" for bike geometry?

XXtwindad
06-24-2020, 09:14 AM
Prompted by some of the discussion around Joosttx's lovely Bingham Built All-Road, I'm really curious about some facets of bike geometry. The crucial caveat is that I'm no expert, and I'm interested in being educated further on the subject.

It does seem to me, however, that there is a trend toward lower BBs and slightly longer chain stays, which lends more stability, or a feeling of being "in" the bike rather than "on" the bike.

Here are four recent examples of "road race " bikes I found that would seem to indicate the trend. The first is the geo for Clean39's ti/carbon Firefly I lusted after. 70mm BB drop with 420 chain stays. The Speedvagen stock OG has a 75mm BB drop with 413 chain stays. And Erik's race day road Alliance has a 80mm BB drop with 417 chain stays. The Breadwinner Lolo has a 72 BB drop with 415 chain stays.

Again, I make no claims about being an expert on bike geometry. Far from it. However, I recently was interested in a cross bike, and I talked with a frame builder I have a lot of respect for, and he said the high BB drop (610) would make it very "twitchy" on fast road descents. That has always been an area of concern for me, so I passed.

From where I stand, this is a great trend. I like the increased stability. But if anyone has differing viewpoints, I'd be happy to learn more.

tuscanyswe
06-24-2020, 09:28 AM
I dont think custom bikes are a good way to determine trends but even so it would be suprising if bb drops were not slightly increased overall since tires size have increased overall on roadbikes.

Most now fit 28s or more.

How do u fit a larger tire in the "same" frame?

Well u make the chainstays longer.

How do u make your frame low enough to not hit the toptube when standing over it or negate the feel of beeing to high up when mounted on the same saddleheight but with now larger volume tires making the bike effectively taller?