PDA

View Full Version : Will a HRM help?

Johnny P
06-20-2020, 04:10 PM
I have a question for the community.

I have chronic atrial fibrilation. I have been riding with this condition for about 10 years. This year I seem much slower than normal. I am considering riding with a heart rate monitor (HRM). However, since I have atrial fibrilation, will the HRM give me accurate data and will it be useful in any way in helping me gauge my effort when riding?

Thanks.

robt57
06-20-2020, 04:14 PM
Sports centered Cardio sawbones...

The HRM is a gauge, the Sports Cardio guy is the guy to tell you when and what zones for how long for which training goals.

Not us, all due respect.

Me, I just have chronic PVCs, HRM freaks out when it happens in zone 3-4 too. ;) PVC in my case benign happy to say, your in a different category entirely.

bjf
06-20-2020, 05:19 PM
I had chronic afib. I had always used an HRM, so I was able to compare data collected with afib to that collected before it appeared. I found that my rates tracked the same curves on a given ride, except that the afib numbers were about 30 BPM higher. So I'd say the HRM was still useful.

BTW, I had an ablation almost a year ago and have been in sinus ever since. Maybe something to consider.

OldCrank
06-20-2020, 05:58 PM
I think the Garmin HRM sends data once per second, so I don't think that's the tool for AFib.
But I am a mere geek without medical knowhow.
Let us know what you learn, this is interesting and important stuff!

robt57
06-20-2020, 06:06 PM
BTW, I had an ablation almost a year ago and have been in sinus ever since. Maybe something to consider.

I have several in my family [same generation] having had to have these. Thanks to Grandma, who passed it down the pool it seems. One hit it first shot, 2 more had to have 2nd attempts. Not something you want over treated.

Imagine my delight when I learned my inheritance was not that but rather benign PVCs.

Peter P.
06-20-2020, 06:36 PM