PDA

View Full Version : ebay questions

steelbikerider
06-18-2020, 09:07 PM
I'm new to ebay and I have some questions. Yes, I know its the 21st century but this old fart decided to get busy and clean out a couple of parts boxes to help finance a new frame.

Why make an offer instead of just bid? Is this to avoid the hassle of bidding and waiting? A couple were lowball offers that were way off.

Why say you have a question and want a text reply instead of through ebay messages? Is this to get your phone number for marketing/scam purposes? Both of these requests came from overseas locations.

If anyone is interested, I have Dura Ace 7400, 7700 and 7800 components for sale along with a few 10 speed Ultegra cassettes and a DA cassette, all used but in good working order. Send me a pm if you are looking for something.

kppolich
06-18-2020, 09:19 PM
I'm new to ebay and I have some questions. Yes, I know its the 21st century but this old fart decided to get busy and clean out a couple of parts boxes to help finance a new frame.

Why make an offer instead of just bid? Is this to avoid the hassle of bidding and waiting? A couple were lowball offers that were way off.

Why say you have a question and want a text reply instead of through ebay messages? Is this to get your phone number for marketing/scam purposes? Both of these requests came from overseas locations.

If anyone is interested, I have Dura Ace 7400, 7700 and 7800 components for sale along with a few 10 speed Ultegra cassettes and a DA cassette, all used but in good working order. Send me a pm if you are looking for something.

Frowned upon to pass phone numbers or email addresses through eBay messages. You'll get an email from eBay b/c they monitor the traffic or they will block your message if you try to send a phone number.

It's up to the seller to make it a true auction vs. buy it now vs. allow offers.

paredown
06-18-2020, 09:23 PM