PDA

View Full Version : Velo Europa

BoulderGeek
01-24-2007, 04:45 PM
Well, I did it. I purchased my 40th birthday present today, five months to the day in advance.

My present is to step out of the life that I have been striving to build and survive since 1986. Living in Colorado, weathering the economy and the weather,playing on two wheels and living at elevation has been all I could think about since I graduated high school in the dreary grey East Coast. But, I am at a mid-life juncture, and I am restless.

My plan is to quit my go-nowhere job on the fringes of the IT community, and move to the French Alps for three months.

I just bought airfare from Denver to Paris, via Reykjavik, Iceland. I am going to Chambery, in the Haute Savoie, where I will take French lessons and ride. Maybe have some wine and learn to cook. June and July there. I should be able to get in a few "Etapes du Tour," as well.

Then, the month of August to travel, ride, tour, imbibe.

As the time comes closer, I will undoubtedly be mentioning it and asking for the estimable collective wisdom of this erudite and experienced community. All advice and anecdotes will be appreciated.

My first logistical question involves preferred methods to ship my bike and kit beforehand. Fire away!

Bud
01-24-2007, 04:48 PM
Wow. Cool move, bro.

Mt Evans can wait until you're 41 :cool:

stevep
01-24-2007, 05:02 PM
its beautiful there.
congrats. thats going for it.
you will love the climbs.
why ship the bike ahead?
why not on the plane?

all the great climbs in the alps are there/ near there/ short drive away.

BoulderGeek
01-24-2007, 06:04 PM
I want the bike to just be there. I will not be going direct, but visiting some folks on the East Coast prior to departure. I don't want to have to shepherd my bike case everywhere, plus the extra fees each leg, each way more than pay for shipping.

When I went to Le Tour in 2002, the bike handling was a PITA.