PDA

View Full Version : Are current gruppos ugly?

reuben
06-09-2020, 11:14 AM
Or is it just me?

Background:

Just joined up. Thanks for letting me in on the group ride.

I started riding when Look pedals first appeared - mid 80s I guess. Lemond, Hinault, Kelly, Fignon, Herrera, Longo, Twigg, Rooks, Theunisse, Roche, Argentin, Alcala, Musseuw, Yates, Anderson, Delgado, Rominger...

In the late 80s/early 90s I did triathlons and such on a low end Bianchi. I started to make a "comeback" in the late 90s to get into road racing but then broke both arms in a nasty crash and never followed through. Then I did nothing for a coupla decades and got fat.

Now to my point:

This old Chorus group is pretty - to my eyes.

https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/1041/1160/products/DSC_0059_65203825-8c12-4da2-b4c4-958f24f1955e_1024x1024.JPG

The current offerings from Campy and Shimano are not - IMHO. It's not just the old polished look versus the current black/anodized look - the old lines were cleaner, smoother. Nowadays they look like skeletor components and I don't mean just the rear derailleur, I mean things like the crankset as well. Even the skewers are ugly, like I could use them to grill some kebabs and not have to worry about any of the meat or veggies falling off.

And electronic shifting? Bicycles now need batteries? You're kidding, right? When did Tesla start making bicycles?

Maybe I'm just geezin'. Quite likely, actually.

Anywho, these days I've finally started riding a Specialized A1 Diverge I bought about 2-3 years ago but rarely rode. It's a low end sort of road bike with disc brakes and 30mm tires (I rode 19-22 back in the day). I'm liking it, and if my bathroom scale ever stops displaying frightening numbers I may treat myself to a vintage Cinelli Supercorsa. Steel. No electronics. Most likely rim brakes. I do like the shifters in the hoods, though.

edward12
06-09-2020, 11:20 AM
Yes.

C40_guy
06-09-2020, 11:23 AM
Welcome aboard.