PDA

View Full Version : Rotator cuff issues related to riding

weisan
06-05-2020, 05:03 AM
I have never had any rotator cuff issues before...until recently. And I wonder whether it's related to riding too much. Over the last few months, I have been riding almost daily instead of 3-4 times a week previously. Now, I am experiencing pain from shoulder impingement on the left side especially when I raise my hand.

rnhood
06-05-2020, 05:51 AM
I have found its usually only rest that calms it back down. Do your elbows stick out much when riding? If so, then raise the bars and ride the drops more (shallow drop bars are better). its rotates the arm slightly to a more relaxed position. Anyway, it's more of a guess as I'm no expert. I have had impingement issues off and on but, normally its swimming that exacerbates mine - the backstroke in particular. Ibuprofen can help a little, but it's rest that does the most good.

veloduffer
06-05-2020, 06:14 AM
I don’t think riding would cause an issue. Rotator cuffs problems are usually associated with rotational movement, like throwing or serving in tennis.

But, if you’re older (>50 yrs) most people develop rotator cuff issues from a lifetime of wear & tear.

There are exercises with rubber bands that can help strengthen the shoulder muscles. If you look online, there are lots of info on these exercises. I’ve done physical therapy for my rotator issues from years of baseball and tennis, and it was primarily rubber band exercises.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

merlinmurph
06-05-2020, 06:16 AM
My guess is that you're aggravating a previous injury, possibly even an injury you didn't think was that bad.

Not a doctor, just a guy that had shoulder issues and rotator cuff surgery.

weisan
06-05-2020, 06:25 AM
Thanks for the contributions so far, all on point. I have thought about these things too.

Rest only helps - but I don't want to stop riding altogether.

Turning 50 this year - this body has definitely seen better days.