PDA

View Full Version : Rear derailleur noise

coreyaugustus
06-02-2020, 08:21 PM
Figure you lot would know. Looking for best practices in regard to tuning the 2015+ Campy Record/Chorus rear derailleurs.

I've been using the Campagnolo Official Youtube video for 2015 mechanical groups. My shifting works excellently. Nice crisp clicks from gear to gear. But I get just the slightest bit of chatter on certain cogs. Both chain (KMC X11SL) & cassette (Chorus 11) have fewer than 500mi and I've got a generous amount of NFS lube on there.

So what works best (derailleur adjuster or barrel adjuster) to keep that rear end quiet? Any particular order of cogs you like to adjust, etc? How do I get it as close to silent as possible?

Ken Robb
06-02-2020, 08:30 PM
Are the noisy cogs at the extremes of the cassette or randomly distributed?

coreyaugustus
06-03-2020, 09:43 PM
Are the noisy cogs at the extremes of the cassette or randomly distributed?

Not distributed to the ends. Cogs 2 and 4 are giving me the grief.

oldpotatoe
06-04-2020, 06:55 AM
Not distributed to the ends. Cogs 2 and 4 are giving me the grief.

No bent tooth(kinda tough to tell with so much tooth 'prep'), der hanger straight? 2.2mm spacer between 3 and 4th cog?
All the time or every 3-4 pedal revolution? Cog 2 meaning the one under the smallest cog? Can you hear it in the stand..moving the chain slowly thru the rear der?

Sure it's cog/chain noise?

coreyaugustus
06-04-2020, 10:46 AM
No bent tooth(kinda tough to tell with so much tooth 'prep'), der hanger straight? 2.2mm spacer between 3 and 4th cog?
All the time or every 3-4 pedal revolution? Cog 2 meaning the one under the smallest cog? Can you hear it in the stand..moving the chain slowly thru the rear der?

Sure it's cog/chain noise?

Good questions.