PDA

View Full Version : Track Bike Upgrade

Miranda
05-15-2004, 08:06 AM
I currently have a Croll 4130 Chromoly Steel Track bike and am considering upgrading for next season. Which Serotta model would be the best suited for the track? A steel Colorado III for sprinting as an example? I am fairly new to this.

Thank You!

Miranda

Smiley
05-16-2004, 03:41 PM
C-III or Ottrott are my only 2 choices . Track specific geometry ofcourse .

oracle
05-16-2004, 03:55 PM
buy a major taylor, erm, whatever they (cannondale) now call it, then purchace some real wheels, and be ahead of the game. especially if you are new at this wickedness, this baleful horror that is track racing.

oracle

Dr. Doofus
05-16-2004, 03:58 PM
The Doc and I used to ride a lot of pursuit, which is different animal than sprinting or points racing or Madison, but in general, ride comfort is not an issue on a track bike unless you're dodging potholes at Kissema or Northbrook...so forget the $ for Ti...or even for the Ottrott...if you want a Serotta, get a CIII.... But for the bucks of a CIII with track dropouts and a track fork there are a number of AL options that will get the job done for less...of course, the Doc says that unless you're a 1 on the track it probably doesn't matter what you ride, fitness, cunning, wisdom, and experience will all do more for you than a new bike...but we do by all means recommend Serottas, so buy a CIII as your new road bike, ride it a lot, and then find a sponsor who you can impress/con/manipulate into shelling out for your spankynew CIII track bike next year....

Miranda
05-16-2004, 04:56 PM