PDA

View Full Version : Semi-OT: Chrysler Pacifica

p nut
05-14-2020, 09:08 AM
We currently have a Sienna. We bought it because it was the only minivan with AWD. Now, there is a new entrant, Pacifica. AWD available in 2021.

I love minivans, especially for cycling because they just swallow everything—bikes and all. But one thing I hate is removing the heavy second row seats when we’re packing in bikes or cargo. I’d been jealous of Pacificas with the stow n go seats. Now I can have my cake and eat it, too.

But I have no experience with Pacificas. Those of you who have/had one, care to comment? Fit and finish? Reliability? The 3.6 should be solid, as it’s used in just about every FCA vehicle. Not sure about the rest of the vehicle. Thanks.

Blue Jays
05-14-2020, 09:15 AM
Rented a fairly loaded one for a bicycle vacation and it was truly superb.
The floor is perfectly flat and I must say I marveled at that engineering.
Nice controls. Comfortable ride. Seems like a reasonable candidate.

GregL
05-14-2020, 09:51 AM
I can't speak directly to the Pacifica, but I have 20+ years experience with Chrysler minivans. We've owned 1999 and 2007 Grand Caravans and a 2012 Chrysler Town and Country. Sadly, reliability has gone down over the years. The 1999 Grand Caravan had just one unscheduled maintenance problem in 120,000 miles. The 2007 Grand Caravan had three unscheduled maintenance problems in 75,000 miles. The 2012 T&C has had so many problems that I have lost count over 85,000 miles. My observations on the 2012:

- There was a recall on the engines for cylinder head leaks. We had this occur prior to the recall, but Chrysler covered the repair under warranty.

- Brakes are wimpy and suffer badly in salty environments. They need to be disassembled, cleaned, and lubricated twice each year to have any hope of lasting a reasonable lifespan.

- You need to own an OBD-II scanner and have a good knowledge of auto mechanics to keep these vehicles on the road without going broke.