PDA

View Full Version : OT: Is it crazy to even consider buying a home right now?

hoj
05-01-2020, 05:35 PM
Alright folks -- first time home buyer soliciting your collective opinions here.

I just finished up grad school and accepted a job in the same area as we are currently living (RTP/RDU area in NC). We have been planning for the last year or so to purchase a home once I graduated, and we have money saved for a sizable down payment if that is the route we choose. We are currently renting and we like the place we're at, however our monthly rent is quite a bit higher than our monthly mortgage payment would be (and yes we are aware of closing costs, potential for repairs, etc)

The housing market where we live is really competitive -- most homes in our zip code and price range that have sold within the last year have sold anywhere from 10-20% over asking price, and most homes generally sell within a week (trust me on this, we've already been outbid on several home offers -- and it's been the same story in this area for the past 6-8 years).

As you'd probably expect, we've had some reservations lately given the pandemic and the uncertainty it has brought to the economy. That being said, the housing market in our neighborhood has historically always been pretty competitive due to the proximity to Duke, UNC, NC State and the RTP area.

Are we crazy to even consider buying a home sometime in the next 2-3 months? We'll be here at least four years, and could pretty easily turn a home in our price range into a rental property if the market takes a hit and I move to a new position somewhere else.

Thoughts?

zmalwo
05-01-2020, 05:57 PM