PDA

View Full Version : OT: Oil goes negative

tsarpepe
04-20-2020, 01:51 PM
After a 300% plunge, crude oil futures are now trading below zero.
Does this mean that they'll be paying me to fill up at the gas station?

AngryScientist
04-20-2020, 01:54 PM

i know you're just joking, but there is a lot that has to happen between crude and filling up at the pump.

this is a religion, science and magic for some people, so i wont speculate as i'm not an expert, but i could see this driving the price of gasoline up, as refineries, shippers, pipeline operators, etc halt operations due to the low low price.

Ken Robb
04-20-2020, 01:54 PM
"FREE" plus shipping and handling. :)

mtechnica
04-20-2020, 02:00 PM
The price of oil is like a ham sandwich. If the ham becomes free you still have to pay for the bread and cheese, know what I’m sayin?

dbnm
04-20-2020, 02:01 PM
https://www.cnn.com/2020/04/20/world/deepwater-horizon-spill-anniversary-fish-study-scn/index.html

Mikej
04-20-2020, 02:11 PM
It’s the taxes that kill a good ham sandwich

skitlets
04-20-2020, 02:14 PM
Sounds like it'd cost less to pay someone to take the oil than to pay for storage.

FlashUNC
04-20-2020, 02:16 PM
The latest episode on "When Commodities Get Weird."

el cheapo
04-20-2020, 02:25 PM
Boom & Bust. Everybody who has anything to do with the oil industry knows this is going to happen. It's economics 101...supply & demand. When the boom is on you better save your money because a bust is around the corner.

unterhausen
04-20-2020, 02:28 PM
I was wondering if it would affect pump prices. The world's capacity to store oil is nearly full and the refiners aren't buying. So the people that hold these contracts need to find a place to store the oil involved or pay someone enough that they will be motivated to find someplace to store the oil. People are renting ships to store oil.

The next round of futures contracts are in the $20 range.

el cheapo
04-20-2020, 02:59 PM