PDA

View Full Version : Question: What makes more impact, Carbon wheels or Carbon Frame?

ronlau
04-16-2020, 04:34 PM
To all,

I have been riding my ti or steel bike with alloy rims for many years now.

I just want your input about this question. Do I get more change of feel by using...

1. Carbon Wheels
2. Carbon frame

Thx,
Ron

pooneej
04-16-2020, 05:42 PM
I've never ridden steel or Ti but I had aluminum with alloy wheels at first then put on carbon wheels. This is long ago on a Klein quantum with zipp 404s.
I didnt really notice much difference in the ride. Just could hear when I shifted and a bit of road noise I guess but ride itself - not much to me.

Carbon frame with carbon wheels to me very different. At first, very dead feeling. I kept going back to my aluminum frames. Klein was gone but I had a Felt F1R alum with mavic GL280s, and a specialized allez m4 aluminum. I'd ride them rather than my carbon because I liked that feel better.

I no longer have any aluminum bikes just carbon and looking to build up either a steel or Ti !

pbarry
04-16-2020, 05:48 PM
More supple tires will have more of an impact on ride quality than a change in wheels. What tires and tire width are you riding now? Do you have clearance for wider tires? Less pressure than you might be used to will help comfort level, if that's what you are going for. [Like 85 psi in a 23mm clincher or tubular vs. old school 95-100psi.] :)

madsciencenow
04-16-2020, 05:49 PM
My experience is it depends on the wheels, frame, tires, air pressure ... ...YMMV. I think it’s challenging to really give solid advice on this.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

yinzerniner
04-16-2020, 06:02 PM
To all,

I just want your input about this question. Do I get more change of feel by using...

1. Carbon Wheels
2. Carbon frame

Thx,
Ron

That's like stating "what makes more difference, fire or air?"