PDA

View Full Version : OT: The Future of Gyms (etc...)

XXtwindad
04-15-2020, 10:11 AM
I'm a personal trainer. Perhaps the thread should more accurately be called "the future of personal training," but I'll leave it at that.

I've been struggling with the new "remote" paradigm, primarily because … it seems to be working. Granted, I've slashed rates for clients, mostly by pairing them up in smaller "group" sessions. But for a confirmed Luddite, who would communicate with carrier pigeons if he could, this has been a pretty seamless transition. My question is more long-term, though.

The gym I train it charges me $31 for a single session and $46 for two people. That's a lot of scratch. The majority of the trainers I work with charge (on average) $120 an hour for a single client. (These are standard rates for the Bay Area) My rates are significantly lower, but I have many more long-term clients than most of the other trainers.

The bottom line: I've been crunching the numbers, and taking other factors into account (the huge benefit to the environment, reduced stress level from not commuting into SF) and, to my way of thing, the new age of "telehealth" seems to be dawning. A few clients are already on board with telehealth long-term. I will be having more discussions in the next weeks or so. The issue is with any potential new clients.

A close friend of mine (non client) when asked about the subject, said he viewed gyms as "temples of fitness" and that it would be almost impossible to feel that he would be getting a good workout at home. He also said that I'd be competing with trainers from India to Iowa remotely. The first question is easily (for me) addressed because the majority of my exercises are body weight, so I don't use much of the equipment at the gym. The second part of his answer is a little tougher to answer, and I hadn't contemplated that.