PDA

View Full Version : Low-end Shimano frustration...

dookie
04-07-2020, 08:59 AM
First, I've been a head mechanic at a high-end shop (many years ago), so I'm not new to this stuff...just badly out of practice. So here's my puzzle...

I'm trying to help a friend with his barely better than crappy commuter bike. The RD was misadjusted and he put it in the spokes and ripped it off. Spoke replaced, wheel tensioned/trued...shouldn't matter regarding the problem however. Hangar was replaceable and was, alignment checked...all good there. Chain is also new, because it needed it, rings and cassette not, but look OK to my eye.

Drivetrain is 3x8 Shimano. Shifters are Sora front and Claris rear (crash replacement). I have no idea how well the bike was working prior to the most recent incident, but he says "fine" and was using it daily.

He bought an 8s XT derailleur off eBay, which turned out to be junk and is being returned. In the meantime, I pulled out the only 8s RD I still have on hand and am trying to get things back together for him. It's a (known-good) DA 7402. I locked out the granny ring because the short-cage can't take up the slack, and front shifting seems fine.

Bottom line...8s Shimano is 8s Shimano is 8s Shimano, no? I CANNOT get the rear to shift properly. It will shift cleanly at one end of the range or the other, but not across the entire thing. If I set it up that way, it won't shift at all on the bad side. If I split the difference, it will move the chain every time but ends up chattering on both ends. The weird thing is that it is visibly out of alignment in both directions...ie: jockeys are slightly inboard of the largest cogs and slightly outboard of the small cogs. It's almost as if the spacing is slightly different between the cogs and the resulting movement of the Claris/DA odd-ball pairing. It seems to work slightly better in the big ring (with more chain tension), but still not well.