PDA

View Full Version : Shimano Non-Series Hydraulic Brakes

2LeftCleats
03-28-2020, 10:08 AM
Have a Trek Checkpoint gravel bike and was going to replace the hydraulic fluid. It’s my first time doing this, so I studied the Park Tool and Shimano websites. All looked straightforward until I got to my levers. I thought the whole group set was 105, but there are no logos on the brifters. A little research showed that these are some cheaper OEM version, called “non-series”. Pulling back the hood reveals no fill port on the top as illustrated in the service manuals for “series” versions, like the Ultegra on my other bike. Looking further, I see what appears to be a lateral side plate and possibly a fill port. To expose it enough to work on it will require cutting away some of the bar tape (or unwrapping the bar). Then it looks like I must loosen the mounting bolt and rotate the brifter 90* or put the bike on its side on a table and unmount the caliper so it hangs down. Am I missing something or is there an easier way. Not sure why Shimano didn’t copy the design of the “series” versions. I could not find anything on the Shimano site or elsewhere discussing this.

Thanks in advance.

Velocipede
03-28-2020, 11:11 AM
Which model number? 505? That was the common levers for 105 series builds until they came out with a true 105 branded lever.

2LeftCleats
03-28-2020, 11:29 AM
Thanks for that. It’s not the 505 but that gave me a place to start looking. Appears to be a 405 and the fill port is back towards the base on top. Looks like some bar tape removal but after that ought to be fairly easy.

Velocipede
03-28-2020, 11:48 AM
Thanks for that. It’s not the 505 but that gave me a place to start looking. Appears to be a 405 and the fill port is back towards the base on top. Looks like some bar tape removal but after that ought to be fairly easy.