PDA

View Full Version : Need shimano compatibility assistance

Dave B
03-04-2020, 12:40 PM
I have little knowledge on shimano road stuff and plenty on thbeir mtb stuff.

I have a pretty decent Dura Ace 7800 full kit. The shifters bother me in that they are not comfortable in my hands. I have done some googling, but not sure I am getting the info I need.

Are there any shimano shifters that do not have the shape (meaning newer) of the 7800 style that are still compatible with the 7800 bits?

it is 10 speed of course, but will anything newer, with less of a bull horn shape work as well?

thanks

robt57
03-04-2020, 12:50 PM
All 10 speeds STi will index. Beware for brake caliper cable pull requirements mixing odd number for the second number with even number for second number models.

Also, the FD-7900 works wonky without an ST-7900 shifter and visa versa generally.

I am not aware of much different STi shapes in 10 speed. You could use ST-7700 shifters, loosing a speed, will index with 7800 DRs, and have a much smaller and different shape. Being smaller they are a good weight weenie choice.

Dave B
03-04-2020, 12:56 PM
I don't worry about weight on a bike at all. I just don't like the shape/feel of the 7800 shifters and was hoping to just switch those out.

robt57
03-04-2020, 01:16 PM
I don't worry about weight on a bike at all. I just don't like the shape/feel of the 7800 shifters and was hoping to just switch those out.

So I think, hope to be corrected in the thread. 10Speed STi all have 'that' shape.

If you do go to the ST-7700 solution [giving up a speed], you will need a longer stem, the STi size is about 1CM shorter. When I upgraded from 7700 to 7800 I leaned this, and also that my big hands fit the 7800 a lot better than the small 7700 I used for 12 years. ;)

Another choice is 11s Campy Ergos and a J-tek #4 [i think] with your existing 7800. Keeping 10 speed everything else. This also give you the option of finding a RD-6700-GS and using a 32t cassette.