PDA

View Full Version : Campy triple-->double recommendations?

thew
02-29-2020, 08:57 AM
Campy newbie here hoping to tap into the paceline's collective expertise. Please excuse me if the answers to these questions are obvious!

I picked a ten-speed Record TI triple group up for an upcoming build. I couldn't say no to the price, but I'd really prefer a double. Is there any reason I can't just swap the triple crankset for a double and adjust the front derailleur limit screws accordingly?

A follow-up question: I'd just as soon stay away from ultratorque cranks--they seem a bit intimidating to work on. Did campagnolo ever make a square taper compact or semi-compact double, or are there cranks from other manufacturers that would be a good aesthetic and mechanical match for a record group?

Many thanks!

jemdet
02-29-2020, 09:01 AM
Campy made a square taper compact but only in carbon AFAIK. Had big problems with the pedal inserts coming loose. Happened to me :(

Dave
02-29-2020, 09:19 AM
Ultra-torque is not difficult at all. The cups screw in just like any other. The drive side crank is mounted first and the retainer clip installed. The wavy washer goes into the other cup, then the non drive crank. A 10mm hex wrench is needed to tighten the hirth joint bolt. It's best to have a 10mm hex wrench on a 3/8 drive socket, with a short extension and a torque wrench to properly tighten the bolt.

You can get a Centaur or Potenza ultra-torque crank with a silver finish to go with your older parts that are probably silver.

https://www.campagnolo.com/media/files/035_300_Technical%20manual%20-%20ultra%20torque%20crankset_11s_Campagnolo_Rev03_ 06_19_ENG.pdf

IFRider
02-29-2020, 09:30 AM
I have a double compact, Athena alloy with square taper. Mine is compact torque and was hard to find when I bought (I ended up with 170mm insead of 172.5mm). Similiar to this set with a nicer finish ..