PDA

View Full Version : Anybody have experience leading private cycling tours?

BumbleBeeDave
02-24-2020, 09:27 AM
I've got a photo/writing freelance client who is starting a tour business, and he has asked me to hire on to lead private cycling tours on a freelance basis in several areas of upstate New York where I have extensive riding experience. We're talking groups up to six on road rides, gravel, or a mix. No MTB for now.

His business would primarily be aimed at folks within a 400 miles radius who want a private guided tour for a weekend or longer, so assumed lots of travelers from NYC metro, metro NJ, Boston, Hartford, etc. He would do promotions and sales and all I have to do is go lead the small tours and enjoy the riding, giving the clients the benefit of my 10+ years of experience riding up there.

I've got no doubt I could do this successfully, but any advice on the details would sure be appreciated. How to negotiate prices with this guy? What kind of agreement to draw up for clients to sign? How to price my services--hourly, by the day, whole weekend or week price? What about liability insurance?

The offer intrigues and excites me, but I also recognize I need to do my due diligence. Thanks for any advice from current or former tour leaders--or input from potential customers. What should I do as a tour leader to help you enjoy your experience?

Thanks!

BBD

XXtwindad
02-24-2020, 09:39 AM
Cool post. I'm intrigued to hear the answers. I would imagine liability waivers are a must.

AngryScientist
02-24-2020, 09:45 AM
i would want to make sure he carries all the insurance, for both you and the other clients.

i would make sure you are contractually protected from any and all liability associated with the tour.

everyone is pals until medical bills are involved.