PDA

View Full Version : Garmin touring or other?

parris
01-06-2020, 06:07 PM
I've been thinking about getting a gps unit mainly for when I'm checking out roads and such that I'm not super familiar with. I don't need power data or some of the other features that are on some of the units. What I would like is good mapping etc. I've seen the Garmin Edge Tour reviewed as well as a good number of other units.

Does anyone have good or bad experience with some of these? TIA.

Johnny P
01-06-2020, 06:11 PM
I didn't have a good experience with the touring model. It would freeze up on a ride and wasn't reliable. I would get one of their newer models instead.

parris
01-06-2020, 06:53 PM
Thanks for your experience. Quick question, do you think you could have gotten a wonky model or have you heard of others having issues? Also what did you end up getting? I'm completely new to this end of things and am looking for info other than the canned "its great"! That we all see from any number of sites.

AngryScientist
01-06-2020, 07:18 PM
I have the edge "explore", which is the updated touring model.

it is excellent! does what you seek without some of the other frills. battery life is very good compared to some of my older garmin models.

mapping/navigating is very good.

i've been a garmin user for years and years, and the latest generation is the best yet. i wouldnt hesitate to get an explore.

https://1.bp.blogspot.com/-e87jtHO8uic/XgOK41dk8qI/AAAAAAAADa0/TsQeudee3CU2g9g3-hhf5PjhIYLMcf25wCLcBGAsYHQ/s1200/IMG_4885.jpg

parris
01-06-2020, 07:29 PM
Well color me EMBARRASSED!!! Angry the Explore IS the model that I was thinking about but got it confused with the older Tour model.

Johnny I apologize for the confusion about the models.

marciero
01-06-2020, 07:29 PM