PDA

View Full Version : eggbeaters vs. atacs

chrisroph
01-03-2007, 11:36 AM
Even though I'm a time road pedal addict, I've never really liked the feel of atacs. Can somebody who has used beaters and atacs compare the feel and lateral and angular float between them? Thanks!

iml
01-03-2007, 12:03 PM
I used ATACs exclusively on all my MTB and 'cross bikes from 1996 to 2003, when I switched to Crank Bros. I loved the Times, but for me the Crank Bros. pedals offer performance that's as good or better, with less weight. They clear mud even better than the ATACs here in the PNW. The feel and float is very similar to me.

The less-than-robust bearings some have reported with Eggbeaters have never been an issue for me. All my sets are good, with lots and lots of rainy hours on each.

rwsaunders
01-03-2007, 01:08 PM
On recommendation by several Forumites, I've been running Quattros on the road for about 10 months and I like them.

shinomaster
01-03-2007, 01:19 PM
once you break in the cleats they float quite a lot like speed play pedals. I think it's great and like the float.
New cleats are pretty snappy though.

chrisroph
01-03-2007, 01:55 PM
Do the beaters have what time calls angular float, which is the ability to very slightly rock the foot from side to side, lifting the left side of the foot above the right side and vice versa, not rotate the heel of the foot towards and away from the chain stays, which I call lateral float. Some of you I am sure hate the float of road times but it makes my knees happy and I would love to find a mtn/cross pedal that mimics the float of the impacts.

shinomaster
01-03-2007, 02:12 PM