PDA

View Full Version : SRAM Rival right shifter won't shift - help

weisan
12-19-2019, 05:00 PM
my right side SRAM shifter won't engage or shift anymore after I disconnected the cable from the derailleur, shot some WD-40 inside and shifted a couple of times. The cable doesn't pull or let go when I shift. This is the first time I encountered this. I am relatively new to SRAM product, all my road bikes have shimano except the gravel bike. It came with SRAM rival hydro when I bought it. Any idea what's going on?

prototoast
12-19-2019, 05:03 PM
Is the cable still disconnected? Sram needs tension on the cable to shift.

weisan
12-19-2019, 05:09 PM
Is the cable still disconnected? Sram needs tension on the cable to shift.

Yes it's disconnected but when I applied tension or pulled the cable using my hand while clicking the lever, nothing happens, it won't shift. I don't see how connecting the cable back to the derailleur would make a difference.

prototoast
12-19-2019, 05:21 PM
Yes it's disconnected but when I applied tension or pulled the cable using my hand while clicking the lever, nothing happens, it won't shift. I don't see how connecting the cable back to the derailleur would make a difference.

Then you've probably got a little slack in the cable jamming things up. While pulling on the cable, haphazardly mash the paddle until it starts working again. Sounds stupid, but I've experienced this issue on multiple occasions and have yet to come up with a more elegant solution.

weisan
12-19-2019, 05:55 PM
I will give it a shot, thanks for your response.

TBLS
12-19-2019, 06:57 PM
Good luck. A friend is on her second rival shifter that had the same issue. She procrastinated dealing with so went outside of warranty and shop installed a new shifter, etc at her expense

Issue has recurred so interested if you find a solution.

dddd
12-19-2019, 07:58 PM
How are the hoods sitting with all of this fiddling going on?