PDA

View Full Version : OT: I quit drinking alcohol

grateful
12-13-2019, 06:58 AM
I quit drinking alcohol 6 months ago. I wanted to start this thread to highlight a couple of personally important, quantifiable changes that this choice has caused.

1) Cholesterol-I have been suffering with high Cholesterol for years and medication helped to lower it but not near the recommendations from the medical community. There were times I was +300 mg/DL regardless of fitness.

Please keep in mind the standard is <200 mg/DL.

Cholesterol (under prescribed medications) just prior to quitting- 257 mg/DL

Cholesterol (under prescribed medications) 3 months post quitting- 151 mg/DL

2) Hypertension-I have been battling Hypertension for the past 3 years. Prescribed medications weren't effective.

I would take my blood pressure at the local pharmacy on occasion. I happened to do so within a month of my quitting. To my surprise my blood pressure fell into the acceptable range.

I stopped by my Dr. on the drive home and had them confirm my blood pressure readings. I was in fact within the normal range.

3) Weight-245 to 215, no other lifestyle changes.

I could go on discussing subjective findings and I would be happy to do so in a separate thread if anyone would like.

Brad

54ny77
12-13-2019, 07:11 AM
wow, congrats on the huge weight loss and health improvement!

30 lbs lost in 6 months just on quitting alcohol and no other lifestyle changes = ~100,000 calories lost. that's a lotta michelob ultras!

marciero
12-13-2019, 07:13 AM
Awesome.

The usual caveats about causality notwithstanding, those sound like some dramatic improvements.

kohagen
12-13-2019, 07:14 AM
Glad to hear you've had such positive physical responses to quitting drinking. People have different responses to alcohol. Some seem to tolerate moderate amounts of it quite well, others not so much.

All of those changes will help you live a better and healthier life. And your bank account will be happier, too.

grateful