PDA

View Full Version : Is a sloping top tube traditional??

jrisles
05-11-2004, 09:02 AM
Hi again guys

Again reading through the forums i find that there are alot of bicycles that are customed made with a very slight sloping top tube - between 1 - 2 degrees of slope. Can you tell me if this is traditional. Personally i prefer a horizontal top tube with no slope at all. (I really can't come at these new compact frames with the severe sloping top tubes, they just don't do it for me).

And what advantages if any does a top tube with a slight slope offer the cyclist?

cheers
Jeff
Brisbane, Australia

Andreu
05-11-2004, 12:46 PM
I would say if you don't like the look of it then don't buy it. I am with you on that point.
As for advantages and disadvantages I would say I am no expert on this. I have asked the same question and there are some compelling arguments for a sloping top tube ..some believable others not. I tried to find some links in this forum as I did ask the same question some time back and got some good replies but I cannot find them (Apologies!)...someone else may be in a better position to answer your question.
A :beer:

gabbard
05-11-2004, 03:11 PM
A slightly sloping top tube gives you the ability to have a slightly higher stem without having a headtube extension, but allows a bit more clearance than a horizontal TT frame that would be big enough to get the stem up. Say your legs are long proportional to your torso, but you don't want a frame that is big. A slope will allow you to get the bars up higher in a smaller frame. For TT's in the 55-60 cm range, you get about 1 cm rise per degree.