PDA

View Full Version : Oldie but goodie -

David Kirk
11-17-2019, 03:47 PM
It seems that every few years I somehow stumble on this video and when I do there's no fricken way I can just pass by and not watch it.

I see a good bit of my dad in this man and by extension just a sliver of myself - I'll bet some of you see your dad or grandfather too.

Blue collar work is noble vital work and this gentleman exemplifies that perfectly. I wish I could meet him and buy him a beer and talk about the important stuff.

Many of you will have seen this but if you haven't I feel strongly that you'd have a hard time finding a better use of a few minutes.

Dave

https://vimeo.com/16435404

Dekonick
11-17-2019, 04:29 PM
But I am still learning and always will be.

:banana:

AngryScientist
11-17-2019, 04:30 PM
yea, thanks for that Dave.

Hits home for me from a lot of angles, for sure.

I lost my dad this year, at the age of 94. This vid certainly reminds me a lot him in many ways.

cheers.

paredown
11-17-2019, 04:31 PM
Thanks for that--reminds me of my dad as well--another tin basher and welder, although more punch presses and less work on the brake...

2LeftCleats
11-17-2019, 04:47 PM
Nice. Thanks for sharing. My observation, at east anecdotally, is that tradespeople are a dying breed. Seems every auto mechanic, plumber, carpenter, and HVAC person I’ve hired laments the difficulty finding someone to help as they age out. I think the idea of college being the surest way to financial security has been oversold. Sometimes it works the other way. The last plumber I used had a masters in English lit and a math PhD decided his real passion was working on foreign cars.

Dekonick
11-17-2019, 04:52 PM