PDA

View Full Version : Protein requirements- aka are eggs ok?

steveoz
11-04-2019, 07:16 AM
After a discussion with my sister (who underwent bariatric surgery for weight loss) she mentioned how many eggs she eats to help keep up her protein intake. She also pointed out that I -as a 250lb man-was probably NOT getting enough protein!!
My response was that she might be thinner but her heart is gonna clog up with cholesterol- according to her that's no longer the case with eggs. So what is the consensus on egg intake, and as an overarching question how much protein do we actually need?

ultraman6970
11-04-2019, 07:26 AM
IMO here in the states people eat way too many eggs. And I fall for it :D

In other countries the general rule is like 3 eggs tops a week.

The issue is that your liver is going to have problems (cholesterol production) if you eat way too many eggs every day. But again that debatable because im not a doctor and I like food way too much :P

benb
11-04-2019, 07:27 AM
I think the egg/cholesterol thing (along with other foods with cholesterol in them like shrimp) was busted down thoroughly a while ago. Blood cholesterol doesn't come from dietary cholesterol.

Lots of nutritionists, doctors, etc.. are counseling people to eat more eggs.

fignon's barber
11-04-2019, 07:30 AM
I believe the current thinking is that eggs are the perfect protein and are very good for you. It's the hash browns that'll kill you.

biker72
11-04-2019, 07:34 AM
I haven't had a whole egg since my bypass surgery in 1987. I do eat egg whites however.

Mzilliox
11-04-2019, 07:38 AM
people are so weird.

eggs are great for you, far better than meat. no need to worry about cholesterol, you can even cook them in butter.

you are most certainly consuming other things that are worse for you much more often.

OP, you probably dont need that much more protein, but if you do, there's beans and a whole bunch of other things besides eggs with proteins.

ultraman6970
11-04-2019, 07:47 AM