PDA

View Full Version : Plantar Fasciitis

johnmdesigner
10-23-2019, 03:07 PM
Any success stories out there?
I've been hobbling around like a cow with a broken hoof for about 2 months now.
Saw an Ortho and am doing the stretching exercises but seeing little improvement.
Have been wearing a foot brace at night but getting out of bed in the morning is still an excruciating experience.
Bikes are gathering dust and New York is a walking town. Anyone successfully treat their condition?

tctyres
10-23-2019, 03:12 PM
I've never had it for any length of time. If you need a physical therapist recommendation, I can do that.

YesNdeed
10-23-2019, 03:15 PM
Find a good Rolfer.

johnmdesigner
I've never had it for any length of time. If you need a physical therapist recommendation, I can do that.

Would appreciate a PM. Many thanks.

benb
I've had it once semi-bad and a couple other times felt it coming on but nipped it in the bud quickly with the stretches. I find using a small/hard foam roller on the bottom of my foot helps keep those muscles limber too.

The stretches worked really well for me. I would check out the wear & tear on your shoes, etc.. were you running, do you wear orthotics & they're worn out? Did you change your bike position to put more strain on your feet/calves? (E.x forward cleat position)

Matthew
10-23-2019, 03:17 PM
I basically had to stop running for mine to go away. Haven't really run since and that was years ago. Pretty much hated it anyway. Rest is the only thing that worked. Did not bother me while riding though. Good luck, it can be excrutiating to say the least.

johnmdesigner
10-23-2019, 03:25 PM
I've had it once semi-bad and a couple other times felt it coming on but nipped it in the bud quickly with the stretches. I find using a small/hard foam roller on the bottom of my foot helps keep those muscles limber too.