PDA

View Full Version : Wheel recommendation.. something different...

benb
10-23-2019, 10:08 AM
My All City Space horse is getting really close to needing new wheels.

I've been using the stock wheels on it for the last 6 years. They are wide rims with 32 spokes & tiagra hubs. Pretty much "all weather" use, lots of winter riding.

Basically the hubs are just about done. They're starting to have a noticeable amount of drag. If you take the wheel off the bike and turn the hub you can feel the bearings are shot.

Give it's $75 of hubs and the wheelset is probably like $200 or less I don't think repair/rebuild is worth it.

My thoughts:
- Rim brakes
- Needs to be relatively cheap
- Want to stick with at least 32h given offroad + occasional luggage
- Need to be able to handle pretty much any gravel type use, light singletrack
- Needs to be wide, the bike has rim brakes and the front fork brake mounts don't work with narrower rims
- Needs to resist corrosion, no mavic tyep stuff with their star nut alloy nipples that corrode away if they get salt on them
- While I don't want mavics pre-built wheels I would put a premium on something like their rims with better brake tracks.. that would help the braking on this bike quite a bit.

The Tiagra hubs look like they have steel parts where 105/Ultegra/DA have aluminum.. I am curious if just doing 105 hubs would be good or if I should be looking for something with cartridge bearings. Shimano is still mostly loose ball bearings right?

Ken Robb
10-23-2019, 11:13 AM
what rear hub width?

benb
10-23-2019, 11:25 AM
130mm.

jdp211
10-23-2019, 11:45 AM
Can't go wrong with a DT350s and DT 460 rim combo

ergott
10-23-2019, 11:58 AM