PDA

View Full Version : Drivetrain wear

blindwilly
09-09-2019, 02:13 PM
how are people assessing the wear/lifespan of their drivetrain components. specifically cassettes and chainrings. I have a crankset that i was thinking of pulling off one bike and putting on another but i dont want to bother if the chainrings are at or near the end of their usable lifespan. Are most people changing cranksets/chainrings after a specific amount of miles or is there another way of telling how worn the rings are? I have put roughly 7,000 dry miles on the crankset but it came on a used bike and i am not very good at keeping it clean. I mostly just ride till its noisy then squirt lube and then ride till its noisy again. I haven't experienced any chain slipping yet. I am basically just looking for tips on how to assess drivetrain wear. Thanks

K3RRY
09-09-2019, 03:19 PM
If you’re not noticing anything wrong then keep riding it.
As far as looking for wear for cassettes and chainrings - sharks teeth shape and broken teeth and for the chain - get a chain tool checker gauge or pull on it on the chainring side and see if there is excessive slack.

Dave
09-09-2019, 03:21 PM
A cassette is usually considered to be worn out if you get NEW chain skip on one of more of the most-worn cogs, when pedaling with heavy pedal pressure ( usually standing). You may then find that a slightly used chain works just fine with that cassette.

Chain ring are worn out when you get chain suck, where the chain does not comes loose from the bottom teeth and tries to go up and around.

I edited to add NEW, which is important.

You'll get more cassette life by alternating the use of several chains with one cassette. Slightly used chains are unlikely to skip on a worn cassette.

Mark McM
09-09-2019, 03:32 PM