PDA

View Full Version : Your favorite factory-built wheelset

tv_vt
09-07-2019, 11:02 AM
For summer road riding, which wheels stand out as the best/most ridden/favorites in your collection?

Is it worth differentiating between aero and climbing wheels, or is that really not a factor? Would you choose different sets between solo rides and group rides? Or put another way, would you choose one set more for comfort and another for speed?

Thanks. Just trying to get some reference points.

GOTHBROOKS
09-07-2019, 11:05 AM
zipp 101s

dbnm
09-07-2019, 11:07 AM
I have one set of wheels. I've been riding them for 18 months and have had zero issues.

Light strong and fast.

https://shop.mavic.com/en-us/ksyrium-pro-ust-rr0928.html#1028=3283

Shop around and you can find them for about $800 with tires, sealant and skewers.

Tommasini53
09-07-2019, 11:12 AM
Campy Eurus. Steel spokes, set up with tubeless tires. These are probably 14 years old, still round and true.

zmalwo
09-07-2019, 11:21 AM
Shimano Ultegra wheelset. I used to like Zondas until I had a pair of Ultegra wheels. Every aspect of those wheels are built to last.

zmalwo
09-07-2019, 11:23 AM
Campy Eurus. Steel spokes, set up with tubeless tires. These are probably 14 years old, still round and true.

It always amazes me that Zonda + Campy alloy wheels never need truing.

shinomaster
09-07-2019, 11:26 AM
1) shamals

2) zondas

bigbill
09-07-2019, 11:27 AM
Zondas, old Cosmic Carbones that I got from Dufus. They just won't die.

tv_vt
09-07-2019, 11:51 AM
A few surprises so far. But also amazing that a cheap set of wheels like the Zondas are so highly regarded. I have a few sets, too, and they are pretty flawless.

Blue Jays
09-07-2019, 11:57 AM
Campagnolo Shamal, Campagnolo Bullet, Campagnolo Bora.
Great stock QR. They only require occasional maintenance.

dave thompson
09-07-2019, 11:58 AM
I've been riding Hed Belgiums and Ardennes for years and love 'em. Zero issues.

Toddykins
09-07-2019, 12:14 PM