PDA

View Full Version : Best cheapo Resto in Seattle - Quick!

d_douglas
06-30-2019, 04:50 PM
We are visiting friends in seattle and have (on short notice) realized we are getting a date night without kids!!!!

Where can four adults go for dinner that isn’t too expensive and is unusual. Our friend is vegan and will eat anywhere (ya know, eat a salad at a burger bar if need be) but we are up for some cool ‘weird’ food if you have suggestions.

Staying at their house in Queen Anne near Fremont Bridge, so nearby is great...

72gmc
06-30-2019, 05:36 PM
We're not night lifers by trade, but we like these for date nights:

The Blue Glass (https://www.theblueglass.org/) -- neighborhoody but good, yummy small plates, try the fried brussels sprouts

picolinos (http://ristorantepicolinos.com/) -- up on sunset hill, plenty of good food and a nice place to walk after dinner

the hi life (http://www.chowfoods.com/hi-life/menus) -- sit outside, share a bunch of small plates and people watch

The Blue Glass is grownups only.

d_douglas
07-01-2019, 12:34 AM
Thanks! We ended up hitting Manolin, a great seafood restaurant in Fremont just up the street from google.

What was better was that out car-free friends said we could do Uber or e-bike rentals - you know what I chose!! It was a gorgeous night and the four of us pedalled to dinner, which was awesome. I have never used an ebike until now and I am convinced! I don’t want one now, but in a decade or so, this might be the ticket. My non cyclist wife loved it and saiid that once our kids walk / ride to school on their own (another year due to school arrangements) , she would like an ebike for commuting to get her out of the car - that gets a yes from me! She loved it too (except for the no-helmet thing, which we both dont like)