PDA

View Full Version : I come to you from the front lines, to explain why cycling is dying.

MattTuck
06-09-2019, 07:43 PM
It's farking hard work!

If you've been following along at home, you know my wife and I had twins last May, and bought a house a month later. I have NOT ridden outside since November or December of 2017 and haven't turned a pedal since sometime during the winter or early spring of 2018, when I was last able to do some indoor riding. This is by far the longest lay off from riding since I was like 7 years old.

Needless to say, I have excellent equipment, top quality clothing, shoes, etc. So, I'm in a rare position to experience great gear with absolutely no fitness (like, less fitness than a complete novice).

So, I rode tonight for the first time in a long time. I am here to report that it is now obvious to me why electric assist bikes are such a fast growing segment. I really never had the chance to experience cycling again as a beginner. And I was really dismissive of electric assist bikes, to be honest.

The big take away is that this great sport that we love is actually really really difficult. When you're fit, and have lots of miles in your legs it is very easy to forget that.

belopsky
06-09-2019, 07:51 PM
"just ride"

Clean39T
06-09-2019, 07:54 PM
Fitness comes back faster than you think..

Enjoy every mile. And congrats on getting back to it!

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

rnhood
06-09-2019, 07:54 PM
It's probably more difficult in the current, or modern generation. Years ago the wife had her duties and expectations, the man his. Part of his was to maintain his health and fitness so, he cycled, or run, swam, or whatever. The wife didn't work, so she had more time to take care of the kids and home stuff.

But today, often both work so it's a different situation. I see guys having to take care of the baby, even cook meals, and drive errands like delivering and picking up kids from school, etc.