PDA

View Full Version : Trip to San Francisco

fbhidy
06-06-2019, 10:52 AM
So I'm traveling to San Francisco (near Redwood City actually) next week and I'm deciding between flying with my bike or renting when I get there.

Option 1 - Bring my own bike
I'm flying Jet Blue and its $100 each way to check the bike. I work in a shop and have access to two Thule bike cases (1 soft and 1 hard case). I have two options for bikes to bring (I'll be riding primarily road with some light gravel): Trek Checkpoint SL6 set up for gravel racing but I have a set of Zipp 303's I can mount road tires to and I can also bring the G-Ones that came on the bike if I need. Bike option 2 is a Voodoo Wazoo CX bike (Columbus Steel canti breaks) I can set up with the same tires. Both bikes fit me well, but the Checkpoint with the 303's is a sweeter ride, but I'm worried about the airline travel! Also, I'm racing a couple days before I travel, so I'll have little time to clean and prep the bike before I leave (time crunch issue.) Looking for thoughts and opinions on soft vs hard case for airline travel and issues with carbon damage! The steel bike is kinda the lowest denominator option, but not the end of the world.

Option 2 - Rent when I arrive
Hoping for some suggestions for shops with nicer (but not too expensive) rentals. I'll be renting on Wednesday - Saturday. If anyone has a 58-60cm bike they want to rent/loan let me know! Terrain will be hilly and mixed (light on the gravel) surface. I'm a big guy and like easy gears.

I've read through a number of posts on air travel, but there doesn't seem to be a consensus on soft vs hard cases (feel free to direct me to posts if there's a good one I missed.) If I go carbon, and use LOTS of bubble wrap, is the soft case ok? The Thule cases are nice!

Thanks in advance

radsmd
06-06-2019, 11:02 AM