PDA

View Full Version : OT: Wood stoves: Catalytic vs. non-catalytic?

Louis
12-06-2006, 10:13 PM
I’m thinking of getting a wood stove to help heat my house in emergencies when the power is out (I’m all electric, no gas) and when it gets very cold. As I’ve researched them, it seems that there is a fundamental divide: Catalytic vs non-catalytic. Any thoughts on what would be most appropriate?

I’m currently leaning toward a catalytic stove from the Woodstock Soapstone Co. (http://www.woodstove.com/pages/wood_stoves.html) but am willing to listen to others more knowledgeable than I.

TIA for your help.
Louis

PS I know that recently we’ve had a proliferation of OT posts asking for advice, but I think it just shows how highly we regard each other’s opinion, so I think that’s a good thing...

bcm119
12-06-2006, 11:32 PM
I'm no expert, but if you haven't read it already this epa (http://www.epa.gov/woodstoves/technical.html) webpage might be useful.

Check out Vermont Castings stoves too.

Louis
12-07-2006, 07:19 AM
Bump

Thanks BCM, I had not seen that info.

Anybody else out there with additional info?

Hardlyrob
12-07-2006, 08:57 AM
Check your local building codes as well, many areas (like where I live) require a catalytic stove. I don't see a strong reason not to get acatalytic stove - it's better for everyone.

You will also need a building permit and inspection once it is installed to make sure you won't burn your house down. You can install the stove without a permint / inspection, but you won't be able to get a certificate of occupancy when you want to sell the house without the inspection / sign off that the stove installation is up to code requirements.

Vermont Castings makes some beautiful stoves, I also had a Jotul in a previous house that we loved - it would heat the whole house on 7 to 9 pieces of wood a night.

Good luck

Rob

stevep
12-07-2006, 12:49 PM
zabels worst day
tks manet
why is this here? ask manet

BURCH
12-07-2006, 02:08 PM