PDA

View Full Version : OT - Please help me identify this hardwood (pic)

veggieburger
05-22-2019, 09:01 AM
Just started splitting some logs. The bark is very course, the wood is very heavy, and the inside looks like below. It's sort of wavy. I have no idea what it is. Do you?

https://davidbikes.files.wordpress.com/2019/05/img_0112.jpg?w=584

MattTuck
05-22-2019, 09:11 AM
Not sure, but looks similar to some oak I've seen.

I threw it into google image search in hopes that would give me some clues... most of the similar images are knitted sweaters... so that's an option as well.:banana:

Jaybee
05-22-2019, 09:19 AM
Picture of the bark and any leaves would be helpful, if available.

Ruckusdog
05-22-2019, 09:36 AM
I’m a woodworker. It doesn’t look like any green or dry hardwood I’ve ever seen. The open pores look like a partially rotted log that’s been lying on the ground for a while. Is it heavy because it’s wet?

hummus_aquinas
05-22-2019, 09:45 AM
https://memegenerator.net/img/images/14449930.jpg

Mzilliox
05-22-2019, 09:46 AM
that looks like oak thats not quite dry yet.

ColonelJLloyd
05-22-2019, 09:52 AM
Picture of the bark and any leaves would be helpful, if available.

+1 More pics would help.

When you say the bark is very coarse, what do you mean? Are you familiar with shagbark hickory?

veggieburger
05-22-2019, 09:55 AM
I’m a woodworker. It doesn’t look like any green or dry hardwood I’ve ever seen. The open pores look like a partially rotted log that’s been lying on the ground for a while. Is it heavy because it’s wet?

My brother thought oak in need of seasoning. So far as the rot, I have no idea....certainly doesn't look rotted to my eye. Have not attempted to burn yet.

veggieburger
05-22-2019, 09:55 AM
+1 More pics would help.

When you say the bark is very coarse, what do you mean? Are you familiar with shagbark hickory?

Will upload this eve.

redir
05-22-2019, 10:08 AM