PDA

View Full Version : OT: Boxer owners? Possible White Boxer adoption ahead.

William
11-30-2006, 09:14 AM
I know we have some Boxer owners on the forum and I was wondering if I could pick your brains for a moment? We have had an opportunity come up to possibly adopt a young, deaf, White Boxer pup (about 1 yr old). I know they are a great breed, but it is a breed that I have little experience with (exp being Mastiffs, Basset Hounds, and Gray hound mixes). I also understand that there will be special issues working with a deaf puppy, but I taught my dog Slim how to respond to hand signals so I think I have a little experience in the right direction here. Any information or resources to search out would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

William

Ginger
11-30-2006, 09:46 AM
Have you been here?

http://www.deafdogs.org/

Chad Engle
11-30-2006, 09:54 AM
I have a good friend with a deaf great dane. If you have any specific questions you could pm me and I'll get them to him.

Good luck on the adoption. Based on my experience with the dane, I wouldn't let the fact that he is deaf deter you.

Good on you for adopting!

SGP
11-30-2006, 10:03 AM
two years ago, we adopted a boxer-rottie mix puppy. it is a very, very smart dog that taught our then seven-year-old rottie a few tricks
"if you dump the entire kitchen garbage you get so many more goodies than if you just pick from the top!"

it is a very smart and sensitive & snuggly dog.

we are pet sitting four very old doxies; one is mostly blind and deaf. she spends her day napping or walking in circles.

Sorry not much help.

crossjunkee
11-30-2006, 10:05 AM
Hi William,

I don't have specific information on deaf boxers. I do know most white boxers are deaf, but that's about the extent. We adopted through a boxer rescue several years ago. She has been an absolute dream companion. I can't say enough about boxers. She's my first boxer, my wife introduced me to the breed. We will adopt another one I'm sure of it.