PDA

View Full Version : How is your cross bike set up?

seanile
02-28-2019, 11:55 PM
I'm sure this'll quickly find a way to fall into a rabbit hole, but i need some help.

I've been riding my canti-posted cross bike for a few years now, happily set up as a 1x10 speed with a sram x9 rear derailleur on a 11-32 cassette, and a rival shifter.
because of my complacency with this set up, i've ignored any modern advancements/marketing schemes that may have come around for cross since when the sram's 10 spd road/mtb groups' cross-compatibility was quite special.
well, today my shifter stopped working, and my derailleur has been getting wiggly, so i am motivated to see what updates i can make to get to a new inexpensive setup equivalent to what mine was.

and so the question goes, what may that be comrades?
are you buying a 1x specific group?
are there interesting cross-compatibilities worth trying?
is 1x played out?
did joanie really love chachi?
are any shimano rear derailleurs capable of cassettes bigger than 32 without a roadlink?
does shimano sell blank left shifters for the 1x crowd?

anyway...
:help:

jtbadge
03-01-2019, 12:20 AM
11 speed GS-cage Shimano rear derailleurs can handle an 11-36t, 1x or 2x without a WolfTooth or other assistance device.

1x is great in a racing application but every day bikes benefit from the extra range of 2x, ATMO.

Your setup is solid, don’t bother changing it.

Hilltopperny
03-01-2019, 03:01 AM
I have run a 40 tooth rear cassette with the new Ultegra gs on both double and 1x setups without issue.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

Bob Ross
03-01-2019, 08:12 AM
For the type of riding I do, 1x seems like a solution in search of a problem.

I'm using Shimano 105 (48/32 chainrings and 11-32 11-speed cassette). TRP mechanical disc brakes.

It works. It's fun. One of those two statments would have to cease to be true, and/or I would have to increase my dirt/gravel riding by ~300%, for me to even consider upgrades or changing anything.