PDA

View Full Version : too many indoor activities in your strava feed?

kmac
02-07-2019, 07:07 PM
this is a rough time of year, weather-wise. many of my friends are seeking refuge in their basements, sweating away on their trainers. these are hard-fought hours to reap hard-earned benefits, no doubt. much kudos should go to them!

but...

when i look at my strava feed, i'm having a hard time finding anyone who's riding outside. i'm in there looking for routes my friends took, trying to get ideas for new places to go. here in februaryville, however, these adventuresome needles are getting lost in a haystack of zwifts and sufferfests.

i'm a software developer by trade, and yesterday when i saw 5 zwifts in a row in my feed, i decided to pick up my fingers and do something about it. so i wrote a chrome browser extension: https://github.com/kevinstuffandthings/strava-outside

it's still pretty raw right now -- enough that if you're not even remotely technical, i wouldn't even entertain trying it. i don't know if i'll ever do much more with it, but it was a fun exercise for me (the only exercise i got) on a 6 degree day here in denver.

completely free, completely safe (could be some bugs, but nothing crazy), and if anyone tries it, would love to get some feedback about your experience. if it proves useful, i might try to publish it. i figure i can't be the only person who's felt this way before.

thanks for reading!

vincenz
02-07-2019, 07:28 PM
This is awesome, will have to try this and let you know :banana::banana: I too am sick of the Zwift and Sufferfest on my feed. I was just thinking this should be a feature in the app. Maybe it's time to send it in as a feature request.

I ride outside rain or shine or cold, unless it's icy. If I have to be stuck on the trainer, I will log only the time and not the miles.

kmac
02-07-2019, 07:46 PM