PDA

View Full Version : New Italian Framesets in Connecticut

nickl
01-29-2019, 09:37 AM
Does anyone know who is selling new Italian framesets in volume from a Connecticut location. Included are Ciocc, Casati and Guerciotti. All are listed from the same seller in Bridgeport, CT. I have no experience as an eBay buyer but often travel to CT.

KarlC
01-29-2019, 09:52 AM
https://www.ebay.com/sch/Bicycle-Frames/22679/m.html?item=292656579592&hash=item4423b10408%3Ag%3A6jYAAOSwH55bWiEj%3Ark%3A 13%3Apf%3A0&_ssn=zarbikessales&_sop=15

Mark McM
01-29-2019, 10:02 AM
I know nothing about these, except what I learned in a 5 minute internet search.

Searching ebay for "Casati frameset", I found listings under the seller name "zarbikessales", which kind of sounded like a company name.

Doing a google search for "zar bikes" brought up this web site:

www.zarbikes.com

information on that web page made it sound like they were an importing company for some Italian bike brands. The web page also included a list of dealers in about 20 states (including one in Maryland and several in Pennsylvania, I don't know how close they are to Delaware). You might be able to contact one to ask if Zar Bikes is reputable.

charliedid
01-29-2019, 10:15 AM
Cheap

Are those brands all still in-house or are these licensing agreements at this point?

Spaghetti Legs
01-29-2019, 10:23 AM
I know Coppi bikes are/were most recently built by Micarghi (spelling?) Bros factory. The ones here look like the same construction as one I briefly owned of Genius steel with carbon stays.

I'd also be curious if those other marques were now licensed. This might be a batch of old stock they got on a deal from the factory.

Mark McM
01-29-2019, 10:42 AM
It may not prove anything, but each of these brands (Casati, Ciocc, Guercotti) have their own web sites, with different contact information, including phone numbers and addresses in different cities in Italy. The Casati web page even offers to do custom geometry frames.