PDA

View Full Version : OT: Standing vs Sitting

XXtwindad
01-18-2019, 10:27 AM
As a personal trainer, I'm always preaching the merits of getting a stand-up desk, or, even better, getting out of your chair frequently. Extended sitting is antithetical to how we evolved and causes a myriad of fitness related issues.

Has any Forumite made the transition to a stand-up desk, and, if so, have you noticed any general fitness improvements?

pinkshogun
01-18-2019, 10:52 AM
I've never had a sit down job but I find extended sitting is uncomfortable both physically and mentally.
When I watch jeopardy in the evening I have to use a heating pad on the lower back to keep loose

quattro
01-18-2019, 10:55 AM
I started using a stand up desk about six weeks ago, I like it very much, and I feel it has contributed to my lower back pain I was experiencing in going away, totally! Standing up and working on the computer for 30-45 minute periods during the day is great and easy to get used to. I have been doing a number of lower back exercises and stretches, combined with the standing desk my pain is gone. Highly recommend a standing desk.

quattro

mt2u77
01-18-2019, 11:16 AM
I just got one that converts from standing to sitting dropper-post style. I thought I'd sit a lot at first, but I went to 95% standing right away with no issues. My feet get a little sore by the end of the day, but that's it.

I have no idea if it makes a real impact on fitness, but I know I shift around and move a lot more while standing. I don't see how it can be a bad thing. My company offered it to me, so I'm a bit isolated from the cost:benefit assessment. If I was buying it myself, I'd probably just make a permanent elevated stand.

Dude
01-18-2019, 11:18 AM
A few years ago I was exclusively standing for about 3 months. I found I leaned to one side or the other and on one occasion my hip was sore. Were there health benefits? I don't know. I'm still alive, so....yes?