PDA

View Full Version : OT: rebranding exists not just in bikes! (bourbon content)

54ny77
01-01-2019, 02:36 PM
Never knew this kind of thing existed. Straight outta the thing we see in bike land where "brands" just slap a logo and paint on something that someone else makes, that "someone" being a big(ger) manufacturer.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xgYUQl9WLQ

zzy
01-01-2019, 02:49 PM
The spirits industry is an extreme example of rebranding. Three massive distilleries in the midwest produce the majority of America's (cheap) liquors. But you'd never know because the label only says were it was bottled, not distilled. They even make and bottle to order.

Louis
01-01-2019, 02:54 PM
I'm no expert, but along those same lines I'm pretty sure that many wines are a mix of all sorts of stuff that wasn't necessarily grown at the winery advertised on the label.

Bentley
01-01-2019, 03:09 PM
I'm no expert, but along those same lines I'm pretty sure that many wines are a mix of all sorts of stuff that wasn't necessarily grown at the winery advertised on the label.

Not uncommon for Wineries to buy grapes from growers or other Wineries. That said, I suspect that using “”sourced” wine for blending is not that common in “boutique” wineries, Not sure about the Mega-Wineries (Gallo/Mondavi).

I know buying spirits and “aging” Whiskey is commonly done.

Ray

54ny77
01-01-2019, 03:28 PM
Some will have an "estate grown" label or even more detail identifying a particular plot of land within the estate, so as to differentiate the grapes/vines. But yes, wineries buy grapes from all over the place for a variety of reasons. That's gone on for ages in CA (I haven't the slightest if it happens overseas, but would venture it's the same situation). From there, they take on the task of producing wine.

But, that's quite a bit different than simply rebranding someone else's product.