PDA

View Full Version : Best frame material, groupset and wheelset choices for Heavy, Powerful riders?

zmalwo
12-18-2018, 12:21 PM
So I'm looking forward to build my step dad a durable, long lasting and non-racing road bike. He's over 220lbs, needs 60cm frameset. I found a 2009 Pinarello Prince for dirty cheap, but Don't want to use a 10 years old carbon frame for someone he's weight and height. My question is, should I get a Steel frame, or is it safe for him to ride a 10 yo carbon frame? Also Would a pair of cheap fulcrum or shimano wheels hold up to his weight? I'm 5'9, 160lbs and have built many bikes for myself but I have no experience on bigger frames for a heavy rider.

mktng
12-18-2018, 12:25 PM
durable
long lasting
non race bike.

just get a steel bike.

dont bother with old carbon.

factory build fulcrum wheels and shimano wheels should support his weight.
just dont go hopping curbs everywhere :)

Waldo
12-18-2018, 12:38 PM
Same question, but for heavy and weak riders. Asking for the friend in the mirror...

cribbit
12-18-2018, 12:39 PM
Used ti is super cheap. Sub $500 frames for 1 1/8th, sub $300 1". Lasts forever, won't corrode, won't fatigue.

Wheels are just whatever good 32 spokes you can find. Lots of options.

jtbadge
12-18-2018, 12:42 PM
220 isn't really that much, especially for someone riding a 60cm frame. I weighed that much a couple of years ago, and was riding pretty much whatever I fancied. Don't worry about it as long as you're not buying weight weenie material.

I would recommend 25-28c tires at a minimum, to help minimize pinch flatting while still having a decent ride.

CAAD10 with some halfway decent handbuilt wheels (28 spokes is fine) and 105/Rival/Ultegra/Force/whatever will do great.

MattTuck
12-18-2018, 12:43 PM
Agree with above comments. Steel would be fine. Ultegra is more than enough, 105 fine. 32 spoke wheels are the way to go. Get a frame that can handle 32's.