PDA

View Full Version : Do you ride steel racing frame differently ?

l0n3rider
12-05-2018, 06:49 PM
hi ALL,
sorry if this topic was discussed before. Maybe i didn't searched enough ..

anyway .. i recently changed my riding bike to a steel frame. Bixxis Prima to be exact. only the frame is changed. other components were transferred from my previous bike. previously i was riding Legend HT7.5, a carbon frame.

A little bit of background; i started of with Boardman SLR9.0, then moved to Colnago EPS before the Legend ..

so i have been riding carbon frame for almost 7 years ( i started in 2011) .. and recently moved to steel frame, Bixxis Prima.

The change was due to curiosity .. as well as I really like the classic look. I have been riding it for a month now .. and i'm struggling with it

so do we ride steel frame differently? .. i guess i'm struggling to be fast and responsive .. i do not really mind the extra weight .. but it takes more effort to close the gap in peloton and surprisingly .. if i freewheeling during a short descend .. it is noticeably slower than my carbon frame .. i thought the extra weight should give it more speed ..

any advice/tips/tricks on riding steel frame?

weisan
12-05-2018, 06:57 PM
This is going to be good!

l0n3rider
12-05-2018, 07:02 PM
me and my bike.. i guess i never really introduced myself before

bikinchris
12-05-2018, 07:03 PM
The frame is probably not slowing you down. To me, it sounds like you have something else wrong. Like hub adjustment, brake dragging, wheel out of true etc.

sitzmark
12-05-2018, 07:15 PM