PDA

View Full Version : Do shorter cranks help with grumpy knees?

T-Crush
12-01-2018, 02:36 PM
So as I get older, the knees are aging too (duh). Less fun going up/down multiple flights of stairs and an occasional ache that will likely result in some work down the road. My question to the forum is until that day comes, have any of you gone to shorter cranks and has it helped enough to make it worth it?

saab2000
12-01-2018, 03:01 PM
What are you using now? I've not had creaky knees but I did go from 175 to 172.5 a few years ago and like it.

The short answer is probably yes, you'll like it but I guess it would depend somewhat on what you're using now. Nothing wrong with 170s.

Hindmost
12-01-2018, 03:09 PM
I have had similar knee issues and I've shortened my cranks over the years. I'm no expert, I think the effect that we want is a change to the knee flexion angle.

RFC
12-01-2018, 03:58 PM
Have any of you old guys with sore knees tried Glucosamine? Works very well for some people. It did for me.

Also, regular leg weight training helps to build up muscle and hold things together.

Johnnysmooth
12-01-2018, 04:34 PM
No knee problems (except when something isn't adjusted just rt - eg saddle height :crap:) kept with 175 but do go with 52/36 in front and what a difference for those hills that only seem to get steeper w age

T-Crush
12-01-2018, 05:43 PM
And yes to the supplement question as well. Glucosamine worked enough to notice a difference, added Shark Cartilage which seemed to boost the effects, but tried Tummeric (alone) and it worked even better still.

I'm running compacts, and it sounds like it's worth a cheap set of 172.5s to see if it helps.

Brian Smith
12-01-2018, 05:45 PM